RSS

Doubt

10 Nov

Our life experiences can create with in us different types of doubts, especially doubts about God.  Our doubts can cause us to remain static in our journey of understanding who God desires us to be.  Many times those doubts stay bottled up inside of us, holding us captive while at the same time we seek freedom. The simple act of releasing or sharing those doubts with others can serve as a catalyst in experiencing the freedom in the journey so many of us craves.

Starting this coming Sunday (11/14) we’ll have a bowl or box that will serve to collect our doubts.  I encourage you to write down your doubts (a sentence or paragraph) and place it the bowl.  You don’t have to put your name on it but periodically we’ll reach into the bowl as a community and share one of our doubts with each other and allow others to speak into it. My prayer is that through this process God will join us in the conversation as well.

Index cards will be available each Sunday as well in case you forget to write yours out ahead of time.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 10, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Doubt

  1. Bonnie

    November 10, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    I sometimes feel that my doubt is more with me then God, I know when
    He calls me to do something I doubt that Im the right person for the task. Even when I know that I can do all things through him. He doesn’t make mistakes, yet I doubt my ability to complete it.

     
    • Chris Meek

      November 12, 2010 at 9:47 am

      I can totally relate to what you had to share. Rabbi Akiva once said, “The worst sin one can do is to teach someone to believe in God and fail to teach them that God believes in them.” God not only loves you but he believes in you as well. He believes that you can be the person he desires you to be.

       
  2. Sarah

    January 24, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    I doubt myself often and then I refocus on God’s will for me and then doubt sets in again. I am great at being distracted and often venture back to my doubt only to see God crossing my path again and again to keep me on task for His glory. Thank you LORD for letting me see you on my path, keep your light strong for me. I worry sometimes I did not listen to God or during one of my doubting moments I missed a job He had for me. No matter what I know I am forgiven and He will pick me up again.

     

Leave a Reply

 
