RSS

Thoughts from Derek Webb

01 Dec

This is a song that has been out for some time now and I thought its message is one for us, as we strive to discover what it means to be the community God desires us to be. We, the church, must stop promising to love and obey Him and then prefer possessions, positions and pleasures to Him. The lyrics are below the video.

lyrics:

If you could love me as a wife
and for my wedding gift, your life
Should that be all I’d ever need
or is there more I’m looking for

and should I read between the lines
and search for blessings in disguise
To make me handsome, rich, and wise
Is that really what you want

I am a whore I do confess
But I put you on just like a wedding dress
and I run down the aisle
and I run down the aisle
I’m a prodigal with no way home
but I put you on just like a ring of gold
and I run down the aisle from you

So could you love this bastard child
Though I don’t trust you to provide
With one hand in a pot of gold
and with the other in your side

I am so easily satisfied
by the call of lovers so less wild
That I would take a little cash
Over your very flesh and blood

Because money cannot buy
a husband’s jealous eye
When you have knowingly deceived his wife

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 1, 2010 in Reflection

 

Leave a Reply

 
