RSS

Not The Way It’s Suppose To Be

22 Dec

I was at a funeral today for a woman whose life was taken by her son. As I sat there a few rows behind the family, my mind kept going back and forth from the setting I found myself in, to what we’ve been talking about the last few weeks in our gathering.  The thought that kept running around in my mind was that this is Not The Way It’s Suppose To Be. Our Master’s desire is for his Kingdom to be present and running rampant in our world…just like a mustard seed.  But yet there seems to be hurt upon hurt and pain upon pain.

I guess while sitting there I realized even more how much followers of Jesus need to daily strive to move what goes on up there (in heaven) down here to earth. The only way we I can do that, and you can do that, is by allowing ourselves to be transformed into the people he desires us to be.  To be transformed into people that love the way Jesus loves. To be transformed into people that sees others the way Jesus sees them. To be transformed into people that cares for others the way Jesus cares for them.  To be transformed into people that seek God and his Kingdom over everything else in this world.

I don’t know about you, but I do know me and there’s a lot of transformation that needs to take place.  My hope is that each day I’ll be in the rhythm of God’s grace.  I bless God for each one of you. May we be men and women that love God with all our heart, with all our soul, with all our might and may we love our neighbors as our self.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 22, 2010 in Reflection

 

One response to “Not The Way It’s Suppose To Be

  1. Clif Sheets

    December 22, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    Before she died from pancreatic cancer Judy Aldrige said to me “I win either way”. She knew, as a Christian, that there would be a final victory. Either she would beat the cancer, or she would be in Heaven. She never asked the question “Why me?”. God never answered Job when he asked why. We can ask “for what reason?”. Someday I will find out.

     

Leave a Reply

 
